Daily Prompt: Who wants to COPY another Photographer?


“Daily Prompt: The Sincerest Form of Flattery, Publish a post in the style of a favorite author/blogger or photographer.   Photographers, artists, poets:  Show us COPIES.”

At first thought I was like “What!”   I thought to myself,  “How am I going to show copies?   I like doing my work my way!”

So with some thought…  here is a portrait that is based on a portrait that was seen on the Internet that my client liked.

FB P DSC_5495

I tend to look for ideas on the Internet for inspiration and I encourage my clients to do the same.  I wouldn’t say that I am copying what someone else is doing though because we make the portrait our own. Maybe I should say that I make the portrait my clients portrait and not a reproduction of what someone else has created.

Pinterest is a perfect place for inspiration.  I even have a Pinterest account for Photography by Char where I have collected some ideas for clients to look at and I have uploaded some of my own images for inspiration for other photographers and their clients.

I absolutely love it when I arrive at a session and a client pulls out their phone and shows me something they found on Pinterest that they would like to try.  For one thing… they are excited and this means that the session is going to be creative and fun!

Daily Prompt: The Sincerest Form of Flattery: to COPY?

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Who wants to COPY another Photographer?”

Leave a Reply

