January Photo Challenge: Favorite Shot of 2013


WM2P DSC_5619

 

There are several portraits that I would call “my favorite” but when I think of a favorite portrait of 2013 this is the one that comes to mind first.  I love the fact that McKenzie was willing to sit in the middle of this downtown Battle Creek side street in white paints.  She was perfectly centered with crisp bright yellow lines with bold fall colors behind her.  Here dark jacket and dark boots…  the subtle but bold and balanced background…  with just a slight breeze to slightly move her hair.

Prior to taking this portrait we had walked about a block to utilize an older brick building.  We had decided to try taking some pictures in the roadway, but being downtown Battle Creek the road adjacent to this one was fairly busy.  McKenzie’s mom was our look out for any traffic that may have decided to come our way.  I was sitting in the middle of the side street towards the other end where I listened for traffic that may wander from the other direction.  What we wanted to be a quick shot wound up taking a few minutes due to traffic.  Several times I had to wait for automobiles to pass or clear the corner in the background.

I will have to admit…  I refer to these types of shots as “Playing in the Road!”  I mean how many times have we been told not to play in the road when we were kids.  It is fun to see the response from both my clients and anyone else attending a portrait session when I ask them, “Do you want to play in the road?”

www.rocktheshotforum.com

Leave a Reply

