Truth…


Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRUTH.

Today I decided to start my post off by showing you, my readers, what the Daily Prompts look like with special detail to Photographers, artists and poets!

On to my actual post…

About a week before Christmas I received a request from a good friend.  She was excited about having a large group of her family all over at one time during the holidays.  She wanted to hire me to come take pictures of the group and then do 1st generation, 2nd generation and family groups and so on…

At first I said sure and asked for a an address, date and time.  Then I started throwing some ideas at her like Michigan snow and outdoor shots maybe a porch setting if she had a porch and so forth.  Then she mentioned, “But what about the weather.  It is awful cold outside and I don’t really want to have to make everyone go outside in the cold.” Okay, she was right…  Michigan has been pushing some extremely cold temps.  But all I could think about was my excitement of photographing them outside with the snow and I had all of these ideas going through my head.

Some background about my photography for those of you who do not know me, I do not use a flash!  I don’t use any extra lighting unless absolutely necessary and so much of my technique and what I do photograph, there is no need for me to have or use flashes or extra lighting.  So back to the story…

She says, “Can’t we just take the pictures inside?”  Okay, so while she is talking this is what is going thru my head, “We are talking about 39 people in the large group… 39 people… now INDOORS!”  I then here her ask, “Do you think you could come over and look at my house?  I really do not think I have enough room any of my rooms but you can look if you would like.”  Then she went on to say, “After you look at my home we can travel into town and check out the church.”  I said, “Okay.”  Even though I was very disappointed… I’m still thinking about that awesome group shot in the snow!

I thought about this for a couple days.  Back to my lighting experience… I knew that taking a large group photo inside of 39 people would not turn out well (or not to my standards) without at least a flash, if not extra lighting.  I wanted to do the photo shoot, I really wanted it… but I wanted to do it my way and I wanted to have the quality results that I am known for.  I knew this was not possible.

I called her back a couple days later and said, “I will not be able to photograph your family.”  I then went on to explain, “I don’t use a flash and in order to get the quality portrait that you and I will be expecting, I would need to use a flash.”  and then I said, “I don’t even own a flash.”

As usual her response made me feel good about my decision.  She said, “I am glad that you were honest with me!  I love your sports photography and would love for you to photograph my family but I understand that you do not use a flash and that you were will to tell me that.”

To sum things up…  I gave up a really good session because of my limitations.  I could have taken it on and turned out some really poor quality portraits but I didn’t.

For some of you who have not seen my work, here are some examples…   (I really need to work on my blog boards too!)

FB Audrey Oswalt VB4 2013 UC Blank 12x12-1

FB Hayden Black Starter Calves 12x12-2

FB Allison Fuller Basketball1213 12x12-2

FB Allison Fuller Softball3 12x12-1

FB Dawson Bartlett FB9252013 12x12-2

FB Garrett Korn2FB 52 12x12-2

2 thoughts on “Truth…”

  1. Pingback: A Shade Of Pen

Leave a Reply

