Does your Athletic Director or School contract a Sports Photographer or is it up to the individual Coaches?


I am a Freelance Sports Photographer in Southern Michigan.  I have come across some schools where the Athletic Director will make the decision and contract a photographer to do all of the Athlete & Team Portrait shoots for all of their Sports Team for the year.  I have also come across some schools who make recommendations but ultimately leave the decision up to the individual Sports Coaches.

I am curious as to how your school handles this?

     I am going to share with you some information on how I go about an Athlete & Team Photo ShootSports

Location:

I shoot Athlete & Team Portraits on your home field and natural setting of your sport.

The Athlete Portrait:  

I encourage the athletes to do what they would like for their portrait.  This includes their particular area of expertise and contribution to the team and sport.  Examples would be: the pitcher having their portrait done on the pitching mound; a solid hitter having their portrait done up to bat; a discus throwing having their portrait done in the discus circle with the discus; a pole vaulter having their portrait done in the pole vaulting pit with the pole; or a good putter having their portrait done on the green with their putter & flag.

 AAAA  Small    AHSR13 DSC_2685It has been surprisingly amazing that when an athlete has the opportunity to do what they want for a portrait, they really like their portraits more and are more willing to have their portraits done.  A photo shoot also tends to go a little bit faster!  Track may be the only exception to this considering there is such a large range of events that could be involved.  However, I always attempt to limit the amount of time I take an athlete from practicing their sport.

My Objective as a Sports Photographer:

Throughout many years of being a parent of an athlete, I have learned what parents and athletes are looking for in a good Athlete & Team Portrait and Memory Mate.  In my opinion, one of the main objectives a portrait photographer should have is to capture the true contribution, dedication and expertise an athlete brings to a team and sport.  An Athlete & Team Photo Shoot should not be about me and what I perceive as the perfect pose but instead what the athlete, team and coach perceives as the perfect pose.

I will bring suggestions and guidelines to help an athlete and team portray what they are aiming for.A Small P DSC_7535

It is my belief that the athletes and teams should have ownership in their portraits.  This would be the foundation of Photography by Char.  It would be a great pleasure to be able to photograph your school’s athletes and teams.

You can see more of my work on Facebook or on my Website.

Leave a Reply

